Featured Stories

Personal stories of Jewish connections in St. Petersburg

Through a global partnership with The Jewish Agency, Jewish Federation of Palm Beach County is nurturing a resurgence of Jewish life in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Here are stories of young people in St. Petersburg (in their own words) who enjoy meaningful connections to their Jewish identity through our partnership.

I’m Sofia Barkan, 23 years old, a sociologist. I think of myself as a typical representative of the younger generation of St. Petersburg’s Jewish community.

As a child, I studied in a Jewish day school and was familiar with Jewish tradition. Yet, looking back, I realize that it was actually The Jewish Agency that became my true gateway to meaningful and exciting Jewish life.

My connection with The Jewish Agency started from summer camps. It was there that for the first time I discovered how exciting Jewish tradition and Jewish learning can be.

I gradually engaged in camps and other educational programs, helping me feel that I am part of the Jewish people – and also that Israel is very important for me. I visited Israel for the first time with the Moreshet project, and this visit still remains one of the most powerful and memorable experiences of my life. I learned much about the Jewish world today and started to understand what the community is all about. I made new friends and created my Jewish social network.

During the years of my being a participant of and activist for Jewish Agency programs, the Jewish community gradually became an important part of my existence. Having grown older, I realized that I cannot live without that – I need to stay involved and, most importantly, I want to share my Jewish knowledge and passion with other young people.